Be forgiving on Thanksgiving

13° on Thanksgiving morning 2013
13° on Thanksgiving morning 2013

As my family gathers around the dinner table today with family and friends, I tend to be thankful for those friends of mine, for those people that touch my life everyday that bring happiness and joy to my life.  I am thankful for those that love me, support me and live life with me.  I feel this is important enough that we should really do it every day.  God provides so much we should be thankful for the good things and people that He puts into our lives.

Love your enemies!  Do good to them! Lend to them!  And don’t be concerned that they may not repay.  Then your reward from heaven will be very great, and you will truly be acting as children of the Most High, for he is kind to the unthankful and to those who are wicked.  You must be compassionate, just as your Father is compassionate.  -Luke 6:35-36

Jesus says we should love our enemies as well…..What???  Why would I want to do that?

It’s easy for us to love those who love us, but God calls us to love those who don’t as well.  God love and forgave each and every one of us, even though we are still sinners and don’t deserve his love.

Here’s what I’ll be trying to do:

  1. Be difficult to offend.  This thought comes from Joyce Meyer’s book Power Thoughts, that I’ve been reading through recently.  Being a person that is difficult to offend will make my life much more pleasant.  I never know what people may say or do, but why give the control of your day to other people?  Being hurt and offended does not change the other people, it changes us!

  2. Look at family first.  Is there family that have harmed us in some way by their words or actions?  I’ve been a firm believer that family comes at the top of the list of priorities in life (right behind God).  I hate to see families that have split over some argument that often after many years, no one really remembers what the argument was (or if they do it was really pretty petty), they just remember the hurt that was given…that’s something they never forget.  I want to look at family members and bring them back together.  Life is too short to not forgive those people that should be easy to love.
  3. Look outwardly at your circle of influence.  Perhaps look at people you work with, go to school or church with, or who are in your social media circles.  I want to look at those that have offended me in the past and be forgiving of them.  I also will look at my own actions and be cautious that I don’t give anyone a reason to be offended.  Not that I should back down and be passive or not share my opinions….but I will realize that others have different opinions than mine and that’s ok.  I need to be also careful with those that I hold a position of power over in some way, as they may not even express their offense, which would cause it to fester within them.
  4. Be giving and forgiving to those on the margins of society.  This should just be an extension of my being.  It could be as simple as giving to the local food cupboard, or perhaps saying a kind word to someone in need, or helping someone who struggles to provide for their family.  There are so many ways to be giving, that this should be the easiest of all to do, but I find sometimes it’s the last we want to do.   I want to put this in the forefront of my mind moving forward so that it is not an ‘exceptional’ act of kindness, but a ‘normal’ one.

God bless you all on this Thanksgiving Day and enjoy and be thankful for all that God has given us.

2 thoughts on “Be forgiving on Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

