Crush It – Gary Vaynerchuk

Crush It! by Gary Vaynerchuk

I recently finished Gary’s book Crush It.  Stick with me on this review because despite my feelings toward it as a business book, it has a lot of value that I want to talk about.

It’s a short business book that I would say is just above average benefit to me as it focused on technologies that I’m already well familiar with and it at points appears to be a bit dated at times, but I realize it was written a few years back which is ages ago in the fast moving world of social media.  So just as a pure business book, I can recommend it if you want a quick read, but nothing revolutionary here.

However, my real point in writing this review is not the material it presents, but how it got me thinking about my life.  I talked about this a few days ago indirectly and as I was finishing the book, I kept thinking back to the main point….find your passion and live it.  Life is too short not too.  I’ve struggled with that a bit.  There are a lot of things I enjoy doing, from hobbies, to work, to family activities.  But what is my passion?

Will that passion become my lively hood?  Not sure, but I think that if something is my passion, something that I would do for free, it would be almost difficult to not be able to make a living from it.  This is something that we should all seriously think about and evaluate in our own lives, what is our passion.  Leo from ZenHabits gives us a nice little guide to finding your passion that is worth reading and following.

I’m looking forward to the journey of finding my passion, I may already be living it without recognizing it, but the end result will be so rewarding and life so fulfilling, that I’ll have no choice but to crush it!!

Leave a Reply

