Year of Thanksgiving

As we begin this week where we celebrate Thanksgiving here in the United States, I see many participating in the week-long (or some do month long) posts of what we are thankful for.  I propose we do this year round, each and every day.  Why not?  We have so much to be thankful for.  In this year long celebration of Thanksgiving, I propose that we remember each day something that we are thankful for.  If we start each morning giving thanks, we’ll get the day out on a good start.  If each time we find ourselves in a difficult situation and we can pause for a moment and give thanks for something small, I believe it will make that difficult situation even just a small bit easier.

Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever – Psalm 107:1

What will I do?

How will I be participating in this?  Just a few things I hope to do more of this year:

Start each morning with a quick thank you.   I want to wake up each morning and just simply say thank you.  Thank you to a God that has given me another morning to celebrate life, to serve him.

Say thank you to someone in my life.  This could be my wife, my children, a coworker, a friend, or just a stranger on the street.  Saying thanks to someone else lets them know they are appreciated, will brighten their day as well as yours.  It will keep you looking out for those areas in your life where someone has done something for you that you can be thankful for.  When you’re eyes are open and actively seeking these moments, you’ll be amazed at how many there are each day.

Be a person that others can be thankful for.  As I was writing this section, I was listening to a song by the Newsboys called, Live with Abandon.  When I listened to the lyrics, they made me think of how I can be a blessing to others.

Chasing after this world makes me tired
Praisin’ my own name leaves me dry

There’s gotta be so much more to life than this
A higher calling that I missed
I want my life to count, every breath

As I thought of how to be a person that others can be thankful for, these words struck me.  I don’t want to be that person that serves and gives with an attitude of “Look at me and all that I do”, but I do want my life to matter, I want to make every moment of my existence matter to someone.  Then they sing the chorus and the answer strikes me:

I wanna live with abandon
Give you all that I am
Every part of my heart Jesus
I place in your hands
I wanna live with abandon

If I live my life with abandon in the pursuit of Jesus, God will be sure to make me a blessing to others.  To be that person that others can be thankful for and I can draw closer to God.

Just three things on that list, but three things that can make a big difference to the world we live in.  I hope to document my progress as I try to do better in those areas.  Why not join me?  Join me in having a year of Thanksgiving!

 

3 thoughts on “Year of Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

