What if He says Go?

So you’re a good Christian. You love God, believe that Jesus died for your sins. You attend church, read your Bible, pray regularly and volunteer at the homeless shelter. But there is still something not right.

You’re happy with your job, you live in a comfortable home, you have plenty of money to live the lifestyle that you want to live. You’re kids go to a school district that you like, weekends are fun filled with family and friends. But something is missing.

You feel the void in your life, but you’re not sure what would fill it. You get more stuff, that doesn’t do it. You go out more with friends, that really doesn’t help either. You get involved in more activities and go to more events…that doesn’t do much other than increase the busyness of your life and add to your stress. But what it doesn’t do is give you what you’re missing.

You begin to feel the pull of God to find your purpose. You have a strong foundation with Christ and want to follow God’s will. You pray, you read, you study, you ask others…and you begin to see that God does have a purpose for you, but you’re still not sure what it is. Meanwhile, your life is passing on slowly, day by day, you still with your stuff, with your cars, with your activities, with your good job. You are living comfortably.

You ask God on a daily basis, “God I want to follow you. I want to do what you desire me to do. Please show me how you want my life to go, show me what you want me to do. Tell me my purpose.

A good prayer, I’ve prayed that on a regular basis. But after 100s of prayers, with seemingly no answer…God reveals to you something that shakes you to your core.

He says “Go!”

Not just, “Go and give more money to the church” or “Go and volunteer every other Saturday at the soup kitchen.” But, “Go! Leave your life, your personal positions, your prestige and go and serve me.” Perhaps it is something “small”, but it requires much from you. Perhaps it means pulling up your family and moving. Perhaps it’s quitting your job and doing something for far less pay. Perhaps it’s selling much of your possessions, downsizing your home, buying a “Get to work” car, so that resources are freed up for his kingdom.

Why would he do that? Because he wants you someplace that your not and won’t get to without doing those things. He needs you humbled, so you can be a good servant. He wants you focused not on acquiring worldly things, but focused on kingdom things. He wants you ready to move when he says go, which you can’t be when you are tied to “stuff.”

“I’ve obeyed all these commandments, “ the young man replied. “What else must I do?” Jesus told him, “If you want to be perfect, go and sell all you have and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” But when the young man heard this, he went sadly away because he had many possessions. -Matthew 19:20-22

What is Jesus saying here? I don’t believe he’s saying that all believers should sell everything they own. We are responsible to care for our own needs and the needs of our families so as not to be burdens on others.

But those who won’t care for their own relatives, especially those living in the same household, have denied what we believe. Such people are worse than unbelievers. -1 Timothy 5:8

But he is saying that we should be ready to go if he says go. We should be ready to leave our possessions behind if he calls us. He doesn’t want anything standing between us and his calling.

What if God says Go?

In my search for the purpose in my life, what if God does say go? What if the answers to my prayers, is an answer I really don’t want to hear. I’m comfortable where I’m at, in my life. It’s not perfect, I look around at others wishing I had what they had (and it’s not always people with more that I envy), but overall God has provided me the ability to provide well for my family.

But would I willing to give it all up? Would I be willing to walk away with my family half-way across the world if that is what God asked of me? That’s something I need to figure out. I know what my answer should be, but if that time comes, what will my answer actually be? This will be something that fills my thoughts in upcoming weeks and I think I have much more to learn and say on this topic.  How prepared am I to do what God asks?

Leave a Reply

