Am I an Exceptional Christian?

gummibarchen-fruit-gums-bear-sweetness-54633The title of this blog is Exceptional Christian, but what do I really mean by that?  Does it mean I’m a great Christian?  Nope not at all!  I’m far from it in fact.  I need a savior, if I was truly great I wouldn’t need one (nor would I be a Christian I suppose).

In that sense, will I ever become one?  Very unlikely.  I find that for every step forward I take, it seems I’ve taken a step or two backwards.  I learn and work on one aspect of my faith, only to falter in another.  Thankfully, I have a God that forgives and sent me a savior to lift me up.

So why the name Exceptional Christian?  Well I think we are looking at the word exceptional wrong.  My first inclination when I hear the word exceptional is just one of the definitions of the word.

Exceptional:  unusually good; outstanding

If we use that definition, then my answers above hold true.  But looking further at the definitions of the word I find this:

Exceptional: unusual; not typical.

I think this definition holds more to what my vision for this blog and for my Christian life is.  One that exemplifies what I mean by the title of Exceptional Christian.

We live in exceptional times.  Here in 2016, we see people around the world slaughtered almost daily, not because of some political war between nations,  no it’s really just a hatred of people who are not like them.  The innocents are killed, just to spread fear.  Just the other day, I read about a video that surfaced showing terrorists beheading a 12 year old boy.

Here in the US, we struggle with an economy that is less than exceptional (using the first definition).  People are out of work or working at jobs below their qualifications.   People live off of handouts because it’s easier to do so than to fight the day to day struggle of working and living paycheck to paycheck (and in some cases they do better with the handouts than they would working).

See every day we live in a world that is less that exceptional (1st definition), so we as Christians should strive to be exceptional (2nd definition).   Lets not be typical Christians (and by no means am I meaning to judge anyone as their relationship between God and themselves is known to God, not to me.)   So how can we do that?

Well first, remember we serve an exceptional God (using the 1st definition), he is able to use our weaknesses and failures for good.  He can take our flaws and use them for His glory.  Despite ourselves and our flaws we are exceptional Christians because we live for him.

Secondly, I think we can be more than typical Christians by letting people know we are and to then live that life out.  No greater harm is done to non-believers and their view of Christianity than that done by Christians  themselves.  I’m a believer that is happy to give a reason for my faith and my belief in Christ and will shout it from the roof tops, but I’m not going to beat you over the head with it.  You’re gonna know where I stand.  Too many times, we see those that expose to be Christians while they are around other Christians or in church, but once they leave that environment, no one would know.  One of the worse things someone could say to me is “I didn’t know you were a Christian.”

Thirdly, what can we do to change the world for Christ?   But before we can change the world, are we in tune with God and his wishes?  God places opportunities in our paths every day to live our lives for him.  Are we ready and willing to obey?  Sometimes they aren’t easy things to do, it will take us out of our comfort zones.  But are we willing to obey if we get that gentle nudge from  God?  It may not be big things either.  I learned a while back, while searching for my purpose with God, that it’s often the little things that God uses for his Glory.  The smile you can give someone in need.  The small gesture of kindness to a passing stranger.  A call to a family member out of the blue, perhaps when they are feeling lonely unbeknownst to you.  It’s those little things that God often uses to make a huge impact in the world.

Are we open to God all day, every day?  Or is that just for the weekends?  God doesn’t exist just on Sundays, it’s a 7 day a week, 24 hour a day thing.   God isn’t confined to the church building.  God should come to work with us, to play with us, out with the friends with us.  Can we live for God always, everyday and everywhere?

See it’s those kinds of things that make a difference in the world, and it’s that version of Exceptional that I mean by the title of this blog.   Lets not be typical, ordinary Christians, let’s be exceptional!

Leave a Reply

